Current Honors Classes

Honors History class visiting the Art Institute
Honors History class visiting the Art Institute

Students who qualify may register for one or more Honors courses, as their schedules allow.

Download current honors courses flier. (PDF)


Honors Program
Spring 2014

 

CLASSDAYTIMEINSTRUCTOR
BIOL 111-H1
Cellular and Molecular Biology
TTH2:00 p.m.-3:20 p.m.
3:30 p.m.-4:50 p.m. lab
Marian Kelly
mkelly@prairiestate.edu
COMM 101-H1
Principles of Communication
TTH12:30-1:45 p.m.E. Schwarz
eschwarz@prairiestate.edu
ENG 101-H1
Composition I
MW9:30 a.m.-10:45 a.m.Annette Dolph
adolph@prairiestate.edu
ENG 102-H1
Composition II
MW12:30 p.m.-1:45 p.m.Annette Dolph
adolph@prairiestate.edu
ENG240-H1
Intro to Fiction
MW9:30 a.m.-10:45 a.m.Alanna Cotch
acotch@prairiestate.edu
PHILO 201-H1
Intro to Philosophy
MW11:00 a.m.- 12:15 p.m.George Streeter
gstreeter@prairiestate.edu
PSYCH 101-H1
Introduction to Psychology
TTH8:00 a.m.-9:15 a.m.Cynthia Cornejo
ccornejo2@prairiestate.edu
PSYCH102-H1
Human Growth and Development
TTH8:00 a.m.-9:15 a.m.Dianne DeSousa
ddesousa@prairiestate.edu

 

Honors Learning Community:
We Can Be Heroes

Unique Honors Opportunity
The following sections have been scheduled to fit together into units of six credit hours constituting a Learning Community. The double-course framework will enhance the honors experience and will allow some individual assignments to be counted for credit in both courses
NOTE: All students enrolled in a Learning Community must register for both three-hour courses.

CLASSDAYTIMEINSTRUCTOR
ENG 102-HLC1
Composition II
Dual enrollment required with HUMAN 201-HLC1
TTH11 a.m.-12:15 p.m.Thomas Nicholas
tnicholas@prairiestate.edu
HUMAN 201-HLC1
Humanities Themes: Myth, Reason, and God
Dual enrollment required with ENG 101-HLC1
TTH9:30-10:45 a.m.George Streeter
gstreeter@prairiestate.edu

New Honors Opportunity!
Honors credit may be available for individual students in some math and science courses. Students desiring honors credit will be assigned an individual project. Contact your math or science instructor to find out whether this option is available in your class.

Contact

Interested? Don't wait. Honors sections are only available in general education courses.

If you qualify for the program, you can register for any of the honors courses listed on the back of this sheet. If you are a new student at the college, you can get help and advice from any of these contacts:

Enrollment Advisor for Honors, Sarah Hein
(708) 709-3508 or shein@prairiestate.edu

Enrollment Advisor for Honors, Shelley Tekeste
(708) 709-3641 or stekeste@prairiestate.edu

Dean, Liberal Arts, Susan Solberg
(708) 709-3758 or ssolberg@prairiestate.edu