Articulation Agreement

Credits for our associate degrees are designed to transfer easily to public and private four year institutions in Illinois. That's because Prairie State participates in the Illinois Articulation Initiative (IAI), a statewide agreement that allows transfer of the completed Illinois Transferable General Education Core Curriculum between participating institutions. Completion of the Transferable General Education Core Curriculum at any participating college or university in Illinois assures transferring students that lower-division general education requirements for an associate's or bachelor's degree have been satisfied.

Top Ten Things You Should Know About IAI

  1. The IAI Agreement and the iTransfer Web site are designed to simplify transferring to any participating school. Always seek the advice of academic advisers at Prairie State College and the school you plan to attend when making transfer plans.
  2. Articulation is the process of transferring courses from one school to another and identifying the way the classes will be used at the receiving school.
  3. The Illinois General Education Core Curriculum is for transfer students only.
  4. To guarantee that you receive full credit, you should complete the Illinois General Education Core Curriculum package before transferring. When it is not completed before transfer, each college or university decides how to apply each individual course.
  5. The Illinois General Education Core Curriculum requires a total of 12 to 13 courses (37 to 41 semester credits).
  6. The General Education requirements at Prairie State College are aligned with the five major areas (fields or categories) within the Illinois General Education Core Curriculum: Communication, Humanities and Fine Arts, Mathematics, Physical and Life Sciences, and Social and Behavioral Sciences.
  7. The Illinois General Education Core Curriculum became effective statewide in the summer of 1998.
  8. Application of credit earned prior to summer 1998 is the decision of the receiving institution. For information about IAI and graduation requirements.
  9. There are two types of undergraduate degrees: the associate's degree and the bachelor's degree.
  10. The IAI is identifying courses which will apply to specific majors. Prairie State College students are encouraged to complete an Associate in Arts or Associate in Science degree prior to transfer.

More than 100 schools, including all community colleges and all public state universities in Illinois, as well as most independent colleges and universities in the state, participate in the IAI. We also have articulation agreements with many universities in other states.

Participating public and private institutions which grant bachelor's degrees are as follow:


  • Chicago State University
  • Eastern Illinois University
  • Governors State University
  • Illinois State University
  • Northeastern Illinois University
  • Northern Illinois University
  • Southern Illinois University at Carbondale
  • Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville
  • University of Illinois at Chicago
  • University of Illinois at Springfield
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Western Illinois University


  • Aurora University
  • Barat College
  • Benedictine University
  • Blackburn College
  • Bradley University
  • Columbia College Chicago
  • Concordia University
  • DePaul University
  • DeVry Institute of Technology, Chicago and DuPage
  • Dominican University
  • East-West University
  • Elmhurst College
  • Eureka College
  • Illinois Institute of Technology
  • Judson College
  • Kendall College
  • Knox College
  • Lake Forest College
  • Lakeview College of Nursing
  • Lewis University
  • MacMurray College
  • McKendree College
  • Milliken University
  • NAES College
  • National-Louis University
  • North Central College
  • North Park University
  • Olivet Nazarene University
  • Quincy University
  • Robert Morris University
  • Roosevelt University
  • St. Anthony College of Nursing
  • St. Francis Medical Center College of Nursing
  • St. Xavier University
  • Trinity Christian College
  • University of St. Francis
  • West Suburban College of Nursing
  • [R] American Islamic College

An articulation agreement exists between PSC and Olivet Nazarene University in Kankakee, Ill. The agreement is aimed at working adults working toward a B.S. degree in Human Resource Management or a B.A.S. in Supervision and Leadership. For more information, call (800) 660-5011.

Other articulation agreements include a "Fast Track" baccalaureate, which gives outstanding high school students the opportunity to earn a bachelor's degree in three years. Currently PSC has Fast Track agreements with Roosevelt University in Chicago and the College of St. Francis in Joliet. For more information about these articulation agreements and enrollment requirements, call (708) 709-3506.

The A.A. and A.S. degrees meet the guidelines of the Illinois Articulation Initiative "Transferable General Education Core Curriculum" and the Illinois Community College Board "Guidelines for Associate Degrees Designed for Transfer."