Proudly serving Community College District 515. PSC is a gateway to possibility.

Prairie State College, a two-year community college, provides a range of educational opportunities for students seeking associate degrees, technical and career certificates, as well as adult, corporate, and continuing education programs. We serve as a hub where our community can gather, connect, and make the most of the abundant resources available.

The Prairie State College story started in 1957.

Prairie State College has a rich history that began in 1957 as Bloom Township Junior College. Initially, our institution aimed to provide students with transfer liberal arts and occupational-technical courses. In 1967, we underwent a significant transformation and were reorganized as a Class I junior college, adopting the name Prairie State College.

Since then, PSC has evolved into a thriving community college that embraces diversity and offers a wide range of educational opportunities. With over 100 fields of study, we provide an extensive selection of degrees and certificates to suit various interests and career paths.

Prairie State College is committed to you.

Prairie State College is the first Illinois community college to guarantee all credits will transfer to other Illinois colleges and universities, an assurance that has grown through the Illinois Articulation Initiative.
picture placeholder

Mission Statement

Prairie State College provides access to affordable and high-qualityeducational opportunities that empower students to achieve their career and life-long goals.
picture placeholder

Vision Statement

Prairie State College is the catalyst for growth and discovery that inspires our community of diverse learners and leaders to reach their full potential and make a positive impact on the world.

Our values connect all of us.

We strive for excellence in all we do and offer high-quality programs in an environment that prioritizes student learning and success.
We strive to achieve equitable outcomes for students regardless of their identities, and promote a sense of belonging and an inclusive learning environment for all members of our diverse community.
We provide unrestricted opportunities for learning suited to students’ individual and collective needs and implement fair processes that recognize their dignity.
We treat one another with respect and uphold honest and ethical principles that guide decision-making with the best interests of our students and community in mind.
We offer forward-thinking curriculum and programming to prepare our students for the careers and challenges of the future.
We integrate sustainable practices into every aspect of the College – the way we teach, maintain our grounds, and operate.
We develop and nurture partnerships with educational institutions, community organizations, and employers to strengthen and support our district.

Prairie State College Fast Facts

  • Type of institution: Two-year community college
  • Founded: 1957 - classes began: 1958
  • Location: Chicago Heights, Illinois (approximately 30 miles south of downtown Chicago)
  • Degrees Granted: Prairie State College offers degrees and certificates in more than 100 fields of study
  • Transfer Degrees: Associate in Arts (A.A.), Associate in Science (A.S.), Associate in Fine Arts (A.F.A.), Associate in Arts in Teaching (A.A.T.)
  • Career Programs: Prairie State College offers dozens of degrees and certificates that provide training careers.

Prairie State College, Illinois Community College District 515, consists of the following communities: Beecher, Chicago Heights, Crete, Flossmoor, Ford Heights, Glenwood, Homewood, Matteson, Olympia Fields, Park Forest, Richton Park, Sauk Village, South Chicago Heights, Steger, University Park, portions of Country Club Hills, Hazel Crest, Lynwood, Monee, Tinley Park and adjacent unincorporated areas of Cook and Will counties. To verify your address is in-district (to pay a lower tuition rate), call Enrollment Services at (708) 709-3514.

The high schools that feed into Prairie State College include Beecher, Bloom, Bloom Trail, Crete-Monee, Homewood-Flossmoor, Rich Township, and Marian Catholic.

District Map (PDF)

Prairie State College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC). The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an institutional accreditation agency that accredits degree-granting colleges and universities that are based in the United States.

Learn More