Placeholder image
Placeholder image

CDL Truck Driver Training Course

The program combines classroom presentation and hands-on learning that leads to an Illinois Class A commercial driver's license necessary for the over-the-road and trucking industry. Classes run year-round. Three course options are available:
This 36-hour course provides an overview of safety relating to transporting hazardous materials along with safe driving techniques when driving with more than one trailer.  Students must already have their CDL licenses, or be currently enrolled in the CDL Training program, in order to participate in this course.

This 196-hour program is designed to provide the highest quality training in the shortest time possible. Students are introduced to the operating rules and regulations that govern trucking operations along with Hazardous Materials (Hazmat), Doubles/Triples, and Tanker endorsement requirements.

  • Overview of safety relating to hazardous materials
  • Safe driving techniques with more than one trailer
  • Coupling and uncoupling procedures
  • Operation of safe operation of tank vehicles
  • Preparation for the State of Illinois CDL (Class A), Hazardous Materials (Hazmat), Doubles/Triples, and Tankers tests. 

A CDL, along with these endorsements, provides students a broader range of opportunities within the truck driving industry.

The Truck Driver Training Program is a 160-hour training program.

Individuals must be able to read, write, and converse in English, be at least 21 years old, and possess a valid driver's license. Prospective students must also meet Federal Department of Transportation (DOT) physical requirements and be able to pass a pre-enrollment drug test.

The following may disqualify individuals:

  • Driving record inconsistent with industry standards for entry-level driving positions.
  • Any alcohol-related violations on motor vehicle records in the past three years.
  • Recent felony convictions or criminal background.
  • History of drug or alcohol abuse.
  • History of mental disorder.
  • Permanent disability or physical limitations.

It is recommended that individuals obtain a copy of their Motor Vehicle Report from the Secretary of State's Office (Driver's License Bureau) prior to starting the program.

The program has a flat rate fee of $3,995.

There are no additional charges for books or supplies. The Illinois Class A licensing fee is an additional charge of $50 to $60 depending upon the endorsements chosen.

Payment Methods

  • Cash
  • Personal and secondary financing
  • Illinois Veteran's Grant
  • MasterCard or Visa
  • Workforce Investment Act (WIA) - Contact your local job service office to see if you qualify for
  • The Illinois Class A licensing fee is an additional charge of $50-$60 depending upon endorsements taken. 


    Refund Policy

    To receive a refund (less any expenses incurred), a student must withdraw by the end of the second day the class meets.

Enroll Today!